Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Malaria epidemic leaves 52 dead in Tripura
Malaria epidemic leaves 52 dead in Tripura
PHOTO : Malaria patients at GB Hospital,Agartala. TIWN Pic June 27

Agartala, June 27: With the death of two more children today, malaria epidemic has killed 52 people. Briefing media at secretariat minister for health Badal Chowdhury said reported two deaths from Kanchanpur sub division hospital – Tapan Joy Reang ( 5) and Braha Reang(4) adding most children are below the age of 10.

Highest toll is reported from Dhalai district there the  number of death are   38, however there is no report of  any death from Sepahijala, Gomati and Unakoti district   Nearly 1674 of some 8984 ho reported malaria like symptoms have tested   positive for the disease today, besides 160 health camp was organized said the minister.

The health minister, health secretary on Friday visited Longtarai Valley sub division. There held meeting and took stock of the situation. Tomorrow the minister will visit Jolaibari and Choudhury  Koyeifang.

Nearly 5,500 of some 25,000 who reported malaria like symptoms have tested positive for the disease, while officials have put the death toll at 52, unofficial sources say this could well be 65. The outbreak of malaria and other diseases has been reported from the tribal-dominated mountainous areas of 11 sub-divisions in five districts: Dhalai, Gomti, Khowai, North Tripura and South Tripura.

The patients have been admitted to government hospitals in the five and adjoining districts. A team of experts from the National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme (NVBDCP) led by special director Awadesh Kumar has visited the malaria affected areas in the past five days.All the northeastern states are malaria prone. Several people are known to die every year due to the disease.

According to NVBDCP, malaria claimed 1,018 lives in 2010 in India, 754 in 2011, 519 in 2012 and 440 in 2013.This year, up to April, 35 people have died of malaria in the country including 11 in Odisha, eight in West Bengal and seven in Meghalaya.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra