Make this your homepage
World News
Home > World News
Indian-origin Dave Sharma officially sworn in as senator in Australia
Indian-origin Dave Sharma officially sworn in as senator in Australia

Canberra, Dec 4 : Dave Sharma, who became the first Indian-origin lawmaker in Australia's Parliament in 2019, was sworn in as a Senator on Monday, December 4, after his victory in the New South Wales Liberal Senate race.

Sharma, 47, defeated former state treasurer Andrew Constance last month to become the first person of Indian-origin from the opposition Liberal party to win the NSW senate position.  The former Australian Ambassador to Israel received applause after swearing his affirmation of allegiance, and was congratulated by his colleagues, The Canberra Times reported.  He was flanked by his NSW moderate faction colleagues, Andrew Bragg and Maria Kovacic, as he took oath for a seat left vacant by former Foreign Minister Marise Payne. 

"An honour to escort our newest Senator, Dave Sharma, for his swearing-in today. Congratulations Senator Sharma, " Senator Kovacic wrote on X.  Sussan Ley, Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party, said Sharma is a "welcome addition" to the federal Liberal team. 

"He has strong experience in Parliament and in senior diplomatic postings. Dave’s keen foreign policy intellect will be particularly welcome given we are in the most dangerous set of geopolitical circumstances since WWII, " Ley wrote on X.  The development comes as the Liberals look to claw back support and win predominantly Labor-held seats. 

In a statement earlier, Liberal Party leader Peter Dutton had said that Sharma's entry to the Senate as part of the Liberal Party comes at a crucial time given events abroad and at home,  "His diplomatic and foreign policy expertise and experience will lend considerable weight and wisdom to the public policy debate given the precarious circumstances in Eastern Europe, the Middle East and the Indo-Pacific, " Dutton had said, congratulating Sharma on securing the seat.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Sanjay Majumder Sanjay Majumder
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra