Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
CPI (M) targeting Trinamool Cong in Tripura, no prob for other parties, says TMC state chief
CPI (M) targeting Trinamool Cong in Tripura, no prob for other parties, says TMC state chief
PHOTO : TMC Giving deputation to Y.Kumar for demanding fair Panchyat Election. TIWN Pic June 26

AGARTALA, June 26 (TIWN): Tripura's ruling CPI (M) party has targeted the Trinamool Congress party ahead of the coming three tier panchayat elections, Tripura TMC chairperson Ratan Chakraborty said here today. Speaking to reporters after conclusion of a meeting with State Election Comissioner Yatendra Kumar at the civil secretariat here this afternoon, Chakraborty said that most political parties were undisturbed by the political heat of elections.

No disturbance from the ruling party touched any of them including Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party or any others. This indicates a secret nexus aiming them, he added. Asked about details of allegations made in the meeting with the State Election Commissioner today, Chakraborty said that areas like Ganki, Dhalabil panchayats in Khowai districts, Sabroom and Belonia in South Tripura district, parts of Sonamura sub-division in Sepahijala district were worst affected by the CPI (M) pre-poll terror.
"We have apprised the State Election Commissioner about the latest case scenario. He assured us that everything relating to the election would be conducted according to the Tripura Panchayat Act and the election commission guidelines", TMC chairperson Chakraborty said. He added that the party had demanded strict vigil on distribution of photo voter slips by the political parties to ensure zero violation of the election commission regulations and to ensure security during polling and counting process by Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF).

"The State Election Commissioner told us that the MHA had declined to allow any central forces for Tripura this panchayat election season. We demanded use of reserve forces in Tripura  including the BSF, TSR and other troops", he stated. 591 gram panchayats, 35 panchayat samities and 8 Zilla Parishads of the state are slated to go to polls on July 15. Results of the election would be announced after counting of votes on July 18. Trinamool Congress state president Surajit Dutta, senior leader and advocate Arun Chandra Bhowmik, Dulal Das and others attended the meeting today as well.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra