Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Nomination submission ends for Panchayat polls in Tripura, over 13 thousand candidates file nominations in gram panchayats
Nomination submission ends for Panchayat polls in Tripura, over 13 thousand candidates file nominations in gram panchayats
PHOTO : Panchyat Election Nomination paper Scrutiny is going on at D.M. Abhishek Singh's Office. TIWN Pic June 24

Agartala, June 24 (TIWN): A total of 13 thousand 584 candidates submitted nominations in 6,111 posts of 591 gram panchayats till the end of nomination submission. 1143 candidates submitted nominations in 419 seats of 35 panchayat samities and 401 candidates submitted nominations in 116 seats of eight Zilla Parishads, State Election Commissioner Yatendra Kumar said here today.

Speaking to reporters here this evening, Kumar said that scrutiny of all nomination papers submitted till Monday was conducted today. The final figure of uncontested seats would be out only after official dates for withdrawal of nomination papers end on June 27.

According to latest inputs, 5,985 CPI (M) candidates submitted nomination papers for gram panchayats. Nomination papers were submitted by 2,396 Trinamool Congress candidates, 2,391 candidates from Congress submitted nominations and 2,336 candidates from the Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) submitted nominations.

Nomination papers for gram panchayats were also submitted by 17 Forward Block candidates, 58 RSP candidates, 25 JD (U) candidates, 7 candidates from Amra Bangalee, 51 candidates from CPI (ML), eight from INPT, from CPI, 5 from SUCI and 236 other independent candidates.

Out of 1,143 candidates who submitted nomination papers for different posts of Panchayat samities, 408 candidates submitted their nomination papers from CPI (M), 251 from Congress, 217 candidates of Trinamool Congress submitted nominations, 213 from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Five candidates submitted nomination papers from RSP, 1 from Forward Block, 2 from JD (U), 11 candidates submitted nomination papers from Amra Bangalee, 12 from CPI (ML), 7 from CPI and a total of sixteen persons submitted nomination papers as independent candidates.

Among major contenders in the Zilla Parishad election, 116 candidates submitted nomination papers from CPI (M), 106 tendered nomination as Congress candidates. Eighty two candidates submitted nomination from the Trinamool Congress, 71 submitted nomination papers from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Four candidates from CPI (ML) candiadates, 14 by Amra Bangalee candidates, seven independent also tendered their nomination papers in the process.

According to initial estimates, CPI (M) might win uncontested in 52 panchayats in the coming three tier panchayat election slated on July 15. The results are scheduled to be out by July 18.

A total of 11,08,188 voters were enrolled in the final electoral rolls for the Panchayat polls announced earlier this year. The finally published electoral rolls for municipalities and other civic bodies scheduled to undergo polls this year pegged the figure of voters at 2,957.

Polling is slated to start from 7 Am till 4 PM on the date of poll. Counting of cast votes would be held from 8 AM on July 18. The entire Panchayat election process would be completed by July 27. Tenure of the incumbent elected public representative bodies in three tier panchayats of the state is slated to end on August 06.


Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra