Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
CPI (M) candidates file nomination papers
CPI (M) candidates file nomination papers

Agartala, June 23 (TIWN): CPI (M) candidates submitted nomination papers in 92 seats of 10 Gram Panchayats and nine seats in Panchayat Samities at Amarpur. The ten Gram Panchayats include Bampur, Rangamati, East Rangamati, Birganj, Mailak, West Malbasa, West Dalak, Rangkang, Thakcherra and Debbari.

CPI (M) Amarpur divisional committee Secretary Ranjit Debnath said all the new candidates submitted their nomination papers to the Returning Officer (BDO) G.B. Das. Altogether 18 Trinamool Congress candidates filed their nomination papers for two Gram Panchayats- Rangkang and West Dalak. Tapan Paul will contest from Zilla Parishad seat as CPI (M) candidate.

Similarly, CPI (M) candidates have filed their nomination papers for 63 Gram Panchayat wards, 9 Panchayat Samity wards and one Zilla Parishad ward to the Returning Officer at Ambassa for the ensuing three-tier Panchayat poll. CPI (M) started their election campaign in full swing in connection with the three-tier Panchayat election, while other opposition political parties are yet to start their preliminary works like as selection of candidates and election campaign is far reach.

According to source, the opposition parties- Congress, BJP, Grameen Congress, Trinamool and INPT have allegedly discussed within themselves in view of projection of single candidate in each of the Panchayat wards, Panchayat Samity wards and Zilla Parishad wards under the Ambassa block area as independent candidate in the form of their greater coalition, though no conclusion yet on this aspect.

It is worthy to mention here that the result of just concluded election indicates that the support base of the opposition parties has declined alarmingly under the Ambassa block area. In the last Panchayat election held in the year 2009, the ruling party Left Front won 52 Panchayat seats out of total 63 and dominated all 7 Gram Panchayats. Though many issues are there against the state ruling Front like as financial corruption, nepotism and other issues but the opposition is hardly in a position to project all these issues against the ruling Front.

Total voter under the Ambassa block 8660, out of which male voter 4363 and female voter 4297. East Nalicherra is the Panchayat having highest voters that is, 1966 voters. On the other hand, Panchayat with lowest number of voters is West Balaram Panchayat with 627 voters. CPI 9M) started their booth level election campaign under the whole of Ambassa block area in the form of booth level meeting, door to door programme.  

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra