Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
BSF jawan injured as smugglers open fire
BSF jawan injured as smugglers open fire

Agartala, June 22 (TIWN): Before settling the dust of Dakshin Ramnagar incident, one more BSF jawan was seriously injured when smugglers fired at him near Ashabari BOP last night.

 The injured BSF jawan- Ratan Gopal Barman was shifted to GBP Hospital immediately after the incident and his condition is stated to be stable.

According to police, based on secret inputs Company Commander Ashabari BOP Dharmendra Kumar along with Ratan Gopal Barman went to Beniyapara area, a border village under Kalamchoura police station last night around 9.45 pm. After reaching there, they spotted smugglers were engaged in uploading consignment of delicious Hilsa fishes. As BSF personnel caught the driver of a vehicle (TR01X-1865), one of the smugglers fired at Ratan, a jawan of BSF Intelligence wing resulting in he suffered serious injury. Taking the advantage of the situation, smugglers have managed to escape from the scene leaving behind the vehicle and the consignment. After receiving the information, a strong contingent of BSF jawans rushed to the spot and took the injured jawan to the hospital.

The company commander lodged an FIR at Kalamchoura police station today. In the FIR, he alleged that four smugglers- Sohel Miah, Hayer Miah, Rafiqul Haq and Ripon Hussain attacked BSF jawans when they were on duty. Police started investigation into the incident but no arrest has been made so far.

Security along the border has been tightened to foil any intrusion bid from across the border. Here it may be noted that two persons including a BSF jawan died at Dakshin Ramnagar area, close to capital town on June 6.

According to BSF, the jawan was killed in the attack by mob. BSF’s Special DG BD Sharma who visited the spot, claimed, “We don’t believe our jawan had committed suicide. And, we want the guilty to get exemplary punishment for their misdeed”. 

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra