Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Panchayat poll: Campaigning gains ground, nominations filed
Panchayat poll: Campaigning gains ground, nominations filed

Agartala, June 21 (TIWN): With the Panchayat poll drawing nearer, thirteen CPI (M) candidates of Unakoti District Council started election campaign for the ensuing three- tier Panchayat election on July 15. Out of the 13 seats, four are reserved for scheduled caste candidates, one for scheduled tribe candidate; three are for general candidates while six are for women.

Prasenjit Sinha, candidate for seat no 8, Madhuri Malakar for seat no 9, Meera Dey for seat no 10,Tarini Sarkar for seat no 11, Mukesh Purukayastha for seat no 12 and Nripendra Malakar for seat no. 13 started preparations for the election in full swing. Apart from the poll campaign, the candidates are busy in forming election booth committee to get better results in the election.

On the contrary, candidates for Gram Panchayat and Panchayat Samity wards under the Chandipur block and Gournagar block of Kailasahar sub division have submitted their nomination papers to the Returning Officers of the concerned blocks. All the CPI (M) candidates moved in a rally and assembled at the premises of the Chandipur block, candidates for 13 Panchayat Samity seats and 80 candidates for the Panchayat wards submitted their nomination papers to the Returning Officer.

Similarly, the candidates of 14 Panchayats and 13 candidates for Panchayat Samity filed nomination at Bamutia Block. The nomination filed was followed by a huge rally of CPI (M) workers and supporters. The rally marched through Durgabari Tea Garden and nominations were filed at Bamutia Block. About 700 to 800 supporters and workers of CPI (M) participated in the rally. The candidates filed their nomination before Assistant Returning Officer. Panchayat Samity Chairperson under Bamutia Block Khokan Debnath and Vice-Chairperson Haripada Das are among the candidates of Panchayat Samity. 

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra