Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Rail Project: Indo-Bangla meeting tomorrow
Rail Project: Indo-Bangla meeting tomorrow
PHOTO : Four member delegates from Bangladesh Railway coming to Agartala from akhura Border for joining a high level meeting tomorrow. TIWN Pic June 16

AGARTALA, June 16 (TIWN): To push the Indo-Bangla rail project, the Project Steering Committee (PSC) comprising representatives from both side would hold meeting here tomorrow, official sources confirmed here today.In the meeting, actual status of the 15-km rail project connecting Agartala railway station to Gangasagar railway station via Nishchintapur would be reviewed threadbare. And, of course status of land acquisition and other hurdles would come up on the table when they meet tomorrow.

The IRCON would execute the dream rail project and the entire fund- Rs. 252 crore would be spent by the Union government. A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between India and Bangladesh railway authorities has already been inked to lay the rail track between two sides.

Initially, the 15 km rail track will be on Meter Gauge (MG) format with facility of Broad Gauge (BG), according to project proposal approved by both sides.

The alignment for the rail project has already been fixed while process for land acquisition has begun in both sides.

A seven-member team from Bangladesh headed by Sunil Chandra Paul, the Joint Secretary Ministry of External Affair (MEA) is expected to join the meeting while  AK Sinha, the Joint Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) would lead the Indian side.

The Bangladesh team: Md. Ajmal Hussain Addl DG, Bangladesh Railway (Construction), Md. Abdul Momin the Dy Chief, Md. Saidul Islam, Addl CE (Trace), Subarata Roy Mishra, DG, SARC cooperation , PMO, Dr. MGS Hussain , Dy Commissioner ( Brahmanbariya) and AFM Jahedul Islam, the Director, Foreign Affairs.

The Indian team: Ms S. Ranganathan, Joint Secretary, Bangladesh/Myanmar,  

M. C. Roy, Advisor to Railway Board (Construction),  BP Dudge Executive Director, Railway Board, Harpal Singh, Chie Engineer (Construction) NFR and Jogesh Kumar , General Manager (IRCON).

Secretary, Transport Kishore Ambuly will represent the state government in the meeting. 

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra