Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
State Election Commission opens nomination submission for Panchayat polls, no nomination submitted on first day
State Election Commission opens nomination submission for Panchayat polls, no nomination submitted on first day

AGARTALA, June 16 (TIWN): The Tripura State Election Commission on Monday published notification for submission of nomination papers in different seats of the gram panchayats, Panchayat samity and Zilla Parishad scheduled to go to polls on July 15 this year.

No nomination paper was filed from any political party or independent candidate till latest reports came in, State Election Commission secretary Prasenjit Bhattacharya said this afternoon.

Prospective candidates are allowed to submit nomination papers from 11 AM till 3 PM every day from Monday till June 23, he added.

Five hundred and ninety-one gram panchayats, 35 panchayat samities and eight Zilla Parishads of Tripura would undergo election on July 15 this year. Counting of votes would be held on July 18. The entire Panchayat poll process would be completed by July 27.

State Election Commissioner Yatendra Kumar earlier told the media that all nomination papers submitted in the process would be scrutinized on June 24. Candidates would be allowed to withdraw nomination papers latest by June 26.

A total of 11,08,188 voters were enrolled in the final electoral rolls for the Panchayat polls announced earlier this year. The finally published electoral rolls for municipalities and other civic bodies scheduled to undergo polls this year pegged the figure of voters at 2,957.

By-election would be held in three civic bodies alongwith the three tier Panchayat poll process this year. The by-polls would be held in Ward no. 19 of Udaipur municipal council; ward no. 5 (women reserved) and ward no 8 (ST, women reserved) from Sabroom nagar Panchayat and ward no. 11 from Ranirbazaar nagar Panchayat to fill up casual vacancies of municipalities and Nagar panchayats simultaneously with the general election of panchayats. Five polling stations were selected for conducting the by-polls in the three towns.

Polling is slated to start from 7 Am till 4 PM on the date of poll. Counting of cast votes would be held from 8 AM on July 18. The entire Panchayat election process would be completed by July 27. Tenure of the incumbent elected public representative bodies in three tier panchayats of the state is slated to end on August 06.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra