Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Udaipur : CPI (M) declare candidates for Panchayat poll
Udaipur :  CPI (M) declare candidates for Panchayat poll

Agartala, June 15 (TIWN): CPI (M) declared candidates list of 3 Panchayat Samity for the ensuing three-tier Panchayat election here at Udaipur. The Panchayat Samities -Tepania, Matabari and Kakraban consists of a total of 39 seats.

While addressing the media, CPI (M) Udaipur Divisional Committee Secretary Madhav Saha said that the seat of Matabari Panchayat Samity is reserved for women candidate and seat for Kakraban Panchayat Samity chairperson is also reserved for women (SC). Out of the 39 candidates, 38 are new candidates, he added. The candidates’ list for sixty gram Panchayats would be announced by the CPI (M) local committee shortly, said former minister Keshab Majumder. Besides, Joy Gobinda Debroy and Biswanath Saha also remained present in the conference.

On the contrary, the ruling CPI (M) at Sabroom also declared their candidates for the upcoming three-tier Panchayat elections. Ata press conference here at CPI (M) divisional committee office, Divisional Committee Secretary Dipak Chowdhury declared the party nominees for the election. MLA Rita Kar Majumder and Biplab Sanyal, CPI (M) secretariat member Raiharan Das and Chittaranjan Basak remained present there in the press meet.

Mr. Chowdhury said the CPM led Left’s Front’s winning run will continue even in the three- tier Panchayat elections. On being asked about the opposition parties, he said, “The Congress still remains main opponent to the ruling party. However, we don’t underestimate the opposition parties. We will contest the election with full enthusiasm to clinch the elections”.

In Sabroom subdivision, election will be held in four seats of Zilla Parishad, 20 seats of Panchayat Samities and31 gram Panchayats. Focusing on the upcoming Panchayat election, the political parities CPI (M), Congress, BJP and Trinamool Congress have geared up for political activities. Interestingly, they have not yet declared their nominees.      

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra