Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Indo-Bangla meeting on Muhuri Char on Thursday
TIWN Nov 17, 2016
Indo-Bangla meeting on Muhuri Char on Thursday
PHOTO : A view of Muhuri Char. TIWN Pic Nov 17

AGARTALA, Nov 17 (TIWN): In an attempt to complete the border fencing works by 2017, Indo-Bangla joint meet to be held on Thursday at Belonia Circuit house. In this regard the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) Sripriya Ranganathan on Wednesday also held a meeting with Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar at Civil Secretariat.

Tripura PWD Minister Badal Choudhury had demanded for re-demarcation of Muhuri Char which delayed the fencing work at South Tripura.

In June 24 Susheel Kumar, the Secretary- Border Management (MHA) arrived in Tripura to inspect the border status of here and held a meeting with Tripura Govt. officials in the presence of Chief Secretary Y P Sing, DGP K Nagraj, RD Dept. Principal Secretary GSG Ayyanagar.

 But before his departure, he expressed extreme displease about the fencing status of Indo-Bangla border in Tripura.

 BGB  Regional Director Brigadier General Mohammad Habibul Karim on July 21 during his visit in Tripura said, “If you don’t do border-fencing alone, we will do jointly but after the partisan the security will be more strong”.

Source said that ‘Modi is keen to solve Muhuri River Dispute with Bangladesh and due to this only Sripriya Ranganathan , Joint Secretary Ministry of affairs , GOI will visit Tripura on 16th & 17th Nov in connection with the India-Bangladesh Land Voundary Agreement of 1974 and also visit Muhuri Chor sector of South Tripura’.

Source further said, the enclaves were exchanged between the two countries with effect from August 1, 2015 under the Mujib-Indira Land Boundary Agreement, bringing an end to the miseries of the people, who lived a confined life for 68 years there.The agreement was now going to be implemented in its entirety with the settlement of the Muhuri Char, Asaduzzaman said.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra