Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Vote for left front candidates says Aghore Debbarma; 60 INPT members joined CPI-M ahead of TTAADC election
Vote for left front candidates says Aghore Debbarma; 60 INPT members joined CPI-M ahead of TTAADC election
PHOTO : CPI-M leaders at election campaign at Baijalbari School Grounds, Khowai. TIWN Pic April 29

KHOWAI, April 30 (TIWN): Tribal Welfare minister Aghore Debbarma gave a clarion call to vote for left front candidates in the council for maintaining peace and development. Addressing a public rally at Ramchandraghat Baizal bari school ground at Khowai district Aghore Debbarma on Wednesday said that the left front is committed for all-round development of tribals. TTAADC is the creation of second left front government in 1983 against a number of odds.

Debbarma added that the creation of ADC was the product of a long and arduous struggle, led by the Left Front and joined by the state tribal and non-tribal people together. Among other things, the ADC was also to bridging the ethnic and economic divide between the two major communities of Tripura.

Terming Congress and BJP as "black marketeers", Aghore Debbarma said both parties are just two sides of the same coin. The two parties are always with affluent businessmen and bureaucrats, but never work for the common people, he alleged.

He added, “The IPFT is acting as political mask of the banned outfit- NLFT”.  The Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) came into being in the state under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution in 1987 to protect and safeguard the tribals who form one-third of the state's population. 

All though the reign of terror unleashed by the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), backed by the outlawed National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT), has ensured the IPFT's victory in the Tripura Tribal Area Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) elections, the people of Tripura are yet to get a respite from the terror. NLFT-IPFT members have now started targeting tribal and non-tribal people who voted for the Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Front.

He added that IPFT was trying to influence the tribal youths with the slogan of Twipraland - a separate state model for indigenous populace of Tripura comprising areas under the jurisdiction of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC).

During the rally 60 members of INPT joined CPI-M. Aghore Debbarma welcomed the INPT members by handing over the CPI-M party flag.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra