Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Left front gears up ADC poll campaign: Opposition allegedly campaigns malicious against CPI (M)
Left front gears up ADC poll campaign: Opposition allegedly campaigns malicious against CPI (M)
PHOTO : TIWN File Photo : ADC members, Ranjit Jamatia in a press meet

AGARTALA, April 4 (TIWN): In the upcoming ADC election 2015, there would be multi-corner contest where five parties comprising of CPI (M) led Left front, Congress, BJP, INPT and IPFT. Communist party of India (Marxist) state committee has already announced the list of candidates’ name who will be contesting in the 28 assembly constituencies under district council. While the opposition Congress recently said that the candidate lists likely to be declared soon and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state committee is yet to announce the candidate lists. However but to mention here the CPIM has been accusing the opposition congress alleging that the Congress has been carrying a malicious campaign against the CPIM and has been trying to dirt the clean image of the Left front govt. here.Rose valley and CM Manik Sarkar episode in wake of the ADC election has been facing several censures with the opposition congress demanding for the CBI enquiry to Manik Sarkar while on the other the CPIM alleging that it is nothing but a malicious campaign of the Congress. Recently CPIM state secretary Bijan Dhar claimed that the congress has been trying to dirt the clean image of the Left front govt. but the congress here has been long run saying that the CPIM and its left front govt. to save its faces behind the musk has been trying to divert the attention of the common mass of the state from the chit fund scam.

Besides, it is also mentionable here that the other political parties like BJP and also the Congress has been eyeing for conventions, meetings, mass gathering and others as part of their campaign with their central leaders arriving here at the state. Asked about the CPIM Bijan Dhar recently said that as of now there is no plan to bring any central leaders here in wake of the ADC election. BJP chief Amit Shah is scheduled to visit here on April 28 and would address the mass gathering at Agartala Vivekananda ground while the Congress remained much busy strengthening its party and organizations from grass root level.

The pre-poll phase, however, is mired by allegations of deteriorating law and order in the ADC areas, which constitute 68.10 per cent of the state's territory. Leaving aside the part of the campaign in which the regional party, Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), has created ripples by demanding a separate state, "Twipraland", to be carved out of the ADC areas, Opposition parties have alleged "terror tactics" by CPM cadres and "inaction by police" and resultant lawlessness and insecurity.

Bijan Dhar said, "They are trying to create trouble by raising a divisive and absurd demand for a separate state. The people will reject it." He said the ADC elections in Tripura have a history of violence. In July 1990, 10 people were killed in election-related violence. "In 2000, the banned NLFT reduced the election to a farce by kidnapping CPM candidates so that they could not file nomination papers. They forced people to vote for their mouthpiece, the IPFT, at gunpoint. We will not allow this to happen again." Besides it is mentionable here that the INPT, IPFT, BJP, Congress and other political parties has of course failed to keep any challenge in front of the ruling CPI (M) yet today. Congress here has also alleged that the Left front govt. has recently April fooled the employees of the state by announcing the central pay scale in wake of the poll.

Though of course the CPI (M) and its left front govt. is under pressure of the opposition congress with a section of ruling leaders and Chief Minister Manik Sarkar are on a spree to save its own clean image and allegedly trying to divert the attention of the common mass from chit fund scam in wake of the ADC election.

General election to TTAADC is scheduled to be held on May 3 and counting of votes on May 6. 


Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra