Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
1987-batch officer Bhawra is new Punjab DGP
1987-batch officer Bhawra is new Punjab DGP

Chandigarh, Jan 8 (TIWN) A 1987-batch IPS officer, Viresh Kumar Bhawra, on Saturday assumed the charge of Director General of Police (DGP) in Punjab, replacing Siddharth Chattopadhyaya.

1987-batch IPS Viresh Kumar Bhawra has served at key postings in Punjab and centre at Intelligence Bureau (IB). "On the consideration of the panel received from Union Public Service Commission, the Governor of Punjab is pleased to appoint Viresh Kumar Bhawra, IPS, as Director General of Police, Punjab (Head of Police Force). His term shall be for a minimum period of two years from the date of assumption of office in pursuance of the orders of the Supreme Court dated July 3, 2018,” the Punjab government said in its order.

The Central government on Thursday constituted a three-member committee, led by Sudhir Kumar Saxena, Secretary (Security), Cabinet Secretariat, and comprising of Balbir Singh, Joint Director of the Intelligence Bureau, and S Suresh, IG, Special Protection Group, to enquire into the "major lapses in security" during Modi's visit to Punjab.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra