Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
Karnataka rebel MLAs move SC against disqualification order
Karnataka rebel MLAs move SC against disqualification order

New Delhi, July 30 (TIWN) Karnataka MLAs have found refuge in the Supreme Court as two Congress rebels, Ramesh Jarkiholi and Mahesh Kumathalli, on Monday moved it seeking directions to quash the Karnataka Assembly Speaker's decision to disqualify them from the House.

A day before the trust vote on the B.S. Yediyurappa government in the Karnataka Assembly, the Speaker disqualified 14 rebel MLAs of the Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) for defying their party whips to attend the House on July 23, when former chief minister H.D. Kumaraswamy put the confidence motion to vote for proving majority, but failed to do.  The rebel MLAs said they would challenge their disqualification in the Supreme Court as their joint petitions had sought its directive for accepting forthwith their resignations re-submitted on July 11 before the Congress and the JD-S issued a whip to them to attend the session on July 23 and long before former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy moved the confidence motion on July 18.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra