Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
INPT declares lists of 26 candidates for ADC poll: INPT closed chapter for alliance, said INPT GS
INPT declares lists of 26 candidates for ADC poll: INPT closed chapter for alliance, said INPT GS
PHOTO : INPT GS Jagadish Debbarma interacting with media persons at INPT office.TIWN Pic April 1

AGARTALA, April 1 (TIWN): Tribal based political party of the state Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT) today declared the lists of 26 candidates for the ensuing Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) election, 2015. This year the INPT has brought at least 22 new faces of its candidates while one women candidate Pritilata Debbarma for Simna-Tamakari constituency. Talking to TIWN today INPT General Secretary Jagadish Debbarma said that the strategy of INPT for the ensuing ADC election scheduled to be held on May3, would be empowerment to TTAADC. Adding to it he said that the demand for the empowerment to ADC would be surely tabled in the Parliamentary session soon after it starts on April 20 again. Beside asked about the issue of the “Twipra Land” demand that was raised by another regional party (tribal based) IPFT, Debbarma today “we certainly do not demand for Twipra land, but as an alternate to it we demand for empowerment to TTAADC and inner line permit.” However but it is mentionable here that this brings out the crystal clear motive of the INPT that is keeping its eye on Twipra land indirectly, while the IPFT had stand tall with the demand as a strategy for the ensuing ADC poll this year.

Besides, asked about the left out two candidates name in their candidates lists, Debbarma said that by evening today another candidates out of 28 will be elected and it will be declared within a days.

It is worthy to be mentioned here that the sources here had confirmed that on March 31night the BJP Pradesh Committee had held a meeting with the INPT, which BJP claims that it was a personnel meeting and there is nothing major on it. But asked about the issue of alliance, Debbarma said that many regional parties had came forward to make an alliance with the INPT, but the INPT had already closed its chapter for any alliance for the ADC poll. “We will fight the battle alone and unitedly,” Debbarma said.

Tripura Left Front Committee had already announced the list of 28 candidates for the forthcoming general elections for the Tripura Tribal Area Autonomous District Council. Declaring the list of candidates at a press conference, CPI(M) State Secretary Bijan Dhar appealed to the electorate to ensure victory of the Left Front candidates in all the seats repeating the results of the elections of  2005 and 2010. He urged them to ensure a huge victory of the Left Front for an atmosphere of peace, unity and faster development all over the state especially in the ADC areas and to give a befitting reply to IPFT who are raising slogans of a separate state and the RSS and BJP who are trying to create communal tension in the state.
Out of 28 seats, the CPI(M) will contest in 25 seats, CPI, RSP and AIFB will contest in one seat each. There are 6 new faces. Number of women candidates is 3.      

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra