Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Tripura Assembly by-election begins at Badharghat constituency amid ‘Hacked’ Voters' confidence
TIWN Sep 23, 2019
Tripura Assembly by-election begins at Badharghat constituency amid ‘Hacked’ Voters' confidence

AGARTALA, Sep 23 (TIWN): Tripura voters’ confidences are in total “hacked” state due to massive rigging, violence experienced in last one and half year, contributing a dangerous signal for Democracy and now pressing a “tough-time” for Election Commission to restore the confidence among the voters. Mass rigging led by BJP’s ‘dabang gang’ under dictatorship of MLAs like Ram Prasad Pal, Krishnadhan Das, Rigging queen Pratima Bhowmik has totally destroyed the poll temperament in the state which was experienced in the last Panchayat election, where voters rejected to cast votes and media broadcasted how “No Voter” before booths, only BJP activists occupied the booths and still high percentage of voting recorded. This time State Election Commission urged voters must to cast votes fearlessly.

In this Badharghat Election however, in a twist, the opposition CPI-M, Congress jointly fought back BJP’s rigging attempt and attack in a family, which resulted in CPI-M, Congress led massive road-blockade in poll-bound Badharghat constituency demanding arrest of BJP MLA Ram Prasad Pal and other activists for attempt “hacking” election again. 

MLA Ram Prasad Pal is the not single leader who successfully and unnecessarily damaged BJP’s image as a ‘undemocratic’ party but Supreme Court of India has issued notice to ECI on Mass-Rigging in West Tripura Lok Sabha Election on April 11 and Re-election expected in ‘Rigged-Winner’ Pratima Bhowmik’s constituency.

Amid all these issues ongoing in Tripura voting has been started from 7 AM in the Badharghat constituency.

The voting for the four constituencies-- Dantewada (Chhattisgarh), Pala (Kerala), Hamirpur (Uttar Pradesh) and Badharghat (SC) (Tripura)--started on Monday morning. In Tripura it started followed by dozens turbulences and tensions, allegations, protests of the opposition demanding a peaceful election in the Badharghat constituency. Tripura’s Badharghat constituency is also witnessing a triangular contest between the BJP, Congress and the CPI-M. Voters who were haunted throughout previous Panchayat and Lok Sabha elections, are reported provided with hefty securities and the whole Badharghat constituency has been blanketed with safety-cover. The bypoll was necessitated due to the death of BJP leader Dilip Sarkar in April this year.

 The much awaited vote counting will take place on September 27 deciding the fates of the contesters Mimi Majumder (BJP), Bulti Biswas (CPI-M), Ratan Das Congress. 

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra