Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
BJP all set to win 86% local body election seats uncontested : CPI-M, Congress slammed State BJP Govt
TIWN July 18, 2019
BJP all set to win 86% local body election seats uncontested : CPI-M, Congress slammed State BJP Govt
PHOTO : Panchayat Election. File Photo.

AGARTALA, July 18 (TIWN): BJP all set to win 96% seats uncontested in this local body election which has generated storms of controversy. CPI-M has staged a massive protest at Aartala today led by former CM Manik Sarkar whereas Congress leader Subal Bhowmik said BJP shameless has introduced tradition of no contested election. Just like 2018, September this time BJP is all set to win the upcoming Election with 86% uncontested seats. This time, at first 82% seats were won by BJP as 18% seats were left without nomination submission by the opposition parties. However, many have withdrawn nominations after submission and thus total 5,652 seats are in grip of BJP out of 6646 seats including Panchayat, Jila Parishad and Samitis. Opposition parties have alleged, their candidates were bound to give up nominations and rest could not submit nominations in BJP’s pressures and attacks. Centering the election, however, various clashes erupted between ruling and the opposition parties.

In 591 villages total Panchayat seat numbers are 6111. Out of those seats, 5728 seats have been won by BJP. Panchayat election will be conducted on 27th July and vote counting will be held on 31stJuly.

In 35 Panchayat Samitis seat numbers are 419. BJP has won uncontested 337 seats.

In Jila Parishad in 37 seats BJP is going to win uncontested out of 116 seats.

CPI-M, Congress and few more regional parties have alleged that they were forced, prevented from submitting nominations in 82% seats.

CPI-M also staged a protest after nomination submission date was expired, voicing against BJP led alleged violence.

The party brought allegation that the candidates were injured, prevented from submitting nominations and in few areas in front of BDO or his office nomination papers were snatched.

Clash between ruling and opposition parties have been reported in Tripura centering upcoming Panchayat Election on July 27.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra