Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Amid model code of conduct, Statewide BJP sponsors Poll violence : CPI-M complains to EC after Dukli party office attack, MP Jharna Das's husband beaten by hooligans, hospitalized
TIWN March 14, 2019
Amid model code of conduct, Statewide BJP sponsors Poll violence : CPI-M complains to EC after Dukli party office attack, MP Jharna Das's husband beaten by hooligans, hospitalized
PHOTO : Mafia style attack in CPI-M's Dukli Party office, (Photo, Right-top): MP Jharna Das's husband Koushik Das injured by BJP hooligans). TIWN Photos March 14, 2019

AGARTALA, March 14 (TIWN): Eventhough Election Commission of India has given strict warning to the rules’ violators of the Lok Sabha Election season, but in Tripura yet no respite from BJP hooligans. BJP miscreants in broad day light on Thursday pelted bricks, bottles, broken windows of Dukli party office of CPI-M which generated a terror across the area. Police role remained unsatisfactory as in the presence of available evidences,Amtali police attempted to clarify, no incident took place which has been alleged by CPI-M. Amid model code of conduct, BJP hooligans allegedly led a massive attack upon CPI-M on Thursday at Dukli, Amtali when the party was continuing a party meeting.The miscreants attacked the Party Office at Dukli and police tried to stop them, BJP hooligans attacked on police officials also, alleged CPI-M.However, SDPO Ajay Kumar Das had denied as such incident, even though FIR was lodged against over 60 people. Das said, before investigation police can not say anything.Few of CPI-M supporters were slapped and beaten.

MP Shankar Prasad Dutta has slammed BJP alleging former MLA Ramu Das’s body guard was slapped, attacked by BJP miscreants.In another separate attack, BJP hooligans have attacked MP Jharna Das's husband Koushik Baidhya near Tapania. He was hospitalized in TMC, left in serious condition. 

CPI-M has complained to Election Commission of India and also to the State Election Commission CEO Sriram Taranikanti.

Few of the accused miscreants have been identified, but police did not disclose their names. CPI-M has demanded action against the miscreants. 

On March 6, CPI-M has told the Election Commission that the atmosphere is not conducive for holding the Lok Sabha elections in Tripura due to "total lawlessness".

It has urged the poll panel to restore a democratic environment before holding the election, party leaders said here on Thursday.

A six-member Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) delegation led by General Secretary Sitaram Yechury on Wednesday met Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and asked him "to protect democracy in Tripura".

"After the BJP-led government came to power, law and order machinery has completely broken down mostly due to the partisan acts of the state administration and police authorities," CPI-M leader Gautam Das told the media.

He said that "lawlessness, continued attack on opposition parties and inactiveness of the administration" and the consequent sense of fear and intimidation posed a major challenge to holding free, fair and peaceful polls in Tripura. 

Das, the Tripura state Secretary of CPI-M, said that in the first 11 months of the BJP government, six CPI-M members were murdered, 1,515 members and supporters were injured in attacks and 445 party offices were either burnt or looted or occupied by BJP members and hoodlums. 

Accompanied by three MPs from Tripura -- Jiten Choudhary, Shankar Prasad Datta and Jharna Das Baidya, the CPI-M leader said that in no case did the police arrest the culprits or even register an FIR in most incidents.

"The situation prevailing now in Tripura exists in no state in India. CPI-M and other opposition parties are not allowed to hold even indoor meetings. Police reject written appeals from the party to hold meetings. Even if the police give permission in one or two cases, the BJP men and their hooligans attack the meetings," Das said. 


Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra