Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
BJP terror prevents Opposition filing nominations in Sipahijala District
TIWN Sep 12, 2018
BJP terror prevents Opposition filing nominations in Sipahijala District
PHOTO : TIWN File Photo : BJP Poll victory in Tripura.

SONAMURA, Sep 12 (TIWN): Out of four seats, BJP has won four due to no opposition filed nominations.

Following various violence allegations, at last BJP snatched the seat without contest, which has however blueprinted by BJP across Tripura.

In Agartala also in front of opposition Congress's topmost leader Birjit Sinha massive violence took place on Wednesday left many police officials injured too and BJP involved in open rigging. In this condition other places situations are wide-open.

On the other side, as maximum candidates of CPI-M couldn't submit nominations, CPI-M has asked Election Commission to conduct the whole submission procedure again with proper security.

Explaining the situations, CPI-M State Secretary Bijan Dhar on Tuesday evening in a press conference said, "Since the day of notification was circulated, violence of BJP started statewide. First the violence started with Bamutia block when BJP had attacked upon opposition during all party meeting in the BDO Office".

"In Kakrabon block, the nomination papers which were collected by candidates were snatched by BJP going house to house. At Belonia, CPI-M leaders were not allowed to go in meetings. At Jualibari woman candidate was returned back home not allowing submission of nominations. Mohonbhog block was totally blocked and opposition couldn't enter at there", Bijan Dhar told media. 

"Nalchar, Salema, Rajnagar blocks conditions were also same", he added further referring Boxonagar's yesterday's violence and Darmanagr, Yubarajnagar blocks.

Both CPI-M and Congress have urged the Tripura State Election Commission to defer the September 30 panchayat polls as there is "no democratic atmosphere" for free and fair local bodies' elections.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra