Make this your homepage
Home > Sports
Know All About 1983 Cricket World Cup: History, Participants and Winner of the Third Edition of World Cup
Know All About 1983 Cricket World Cup: History, Participants and Winner of the Third Edition of World Cup

New Delhi, May 16 (TIWN): The 1983 World Cup known popularly as the Prudential Cup (after key sponsor Prudential Insurance) was the third instance of the World Cup series. The tournament is quite close to the hearts of every Indian cricket fan as Kapil Dev and his boys brought home the trophy when little was expected of them. Played between the 9 June and 25 June 1983 in England, it featured some of the most memorable games in the history of World Cup cricket. There were 27 games played in the competition with India winning the final against the mighty West Indies side. ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule in PDF: Ticket Prices, Dates, Venue Details & Timetable Available for Download Online.

Participating Teams and Format: There were eight teams that participated in the 1983 World Cup out of which seven were full-time members and one associate member. India, West Indies, Australia, England, Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka qualified automatically due to their test playing status while Zimbabwe made it to the main event on the back of winning 1982 ICC Trophy. They were divided into two groups – Group A had England, Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka while Group B consisted of West Indies, India, Australia and Zimbabwe. Cricket World Cup History: Winners, Host Nations, Participating Teams and Timeline of All the CWC From 1975 to 2015.

Semi-Finalists: England and Pakistan qualified from Group A while the two teams emerging out from Group B were West Indies and India. India who would go on to lift the Cup, met England in the first semis and won the game by six-wicket to set up a final clash with West Indies who had defeated Pakistan by eight wickets. Indian Team For ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Players Who Will Be Playing Their First ODI CWC Trophy.

Also Read | ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Jasprit Bumrah, Hasan Ali, Kagiso Rabada and Other Pacers Can Push Batsmen on the Backfoot
Winner: India batting first made a paltry 183 batting first in the final at Lords with Krishnamachari Srikkanth top scoring with 38. In reply, West Indies boasting of the likes of Viv Richards and Gordon Greenidge folded for 140, losing the game by 43 runs. Madan Lal and Mohinder Amarnath picked up three wickets each to lead the Indian counter. Jimmy Amarnath was named the man of the match for his brilliant all-round performance. The leading run scorer of the tournament was Englishman David Gower with 384 to his credit while Roger Binny led the bowling charts with 18 scalps.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra