Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
Yogi Adityanath takes oath as UP's 21st CM
Yogi Adityanath takes oath as UP's 21st CM

Lucknow, March 19 (IANS) Firebrand Hindutva leader Yogi Adityanath was sworn in on Sunday as the Chief Minister of a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in Uttar Pradesh.

Cheered by tens of thousands of supporters, the 21st Chief Minister of the country's most populous state was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ram Naik.

Dressed in his characteristic saffron robes, Adityanath then walked over to and sought the blessings of BJP veterans L.K. Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi as well as Home Minister Rajnath Singh, the Lucknow MP. 

Phoolpur MP Keshav Prasad Maurya and Lucknow Mayor Dinesh Sharma were then sworn in as Deputy Chief Ministers -- in that order.

Outgoing Chief Minister Akhilesh Prasad was present on the occasion and mingled freely with BJP leaders.

The BJP swept to power in the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, decimating the opposition.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Anirban Datta Anirban Datta
Iboyaima Laithangbam Iboyaima Laithangbam